When I knew I was in love…..with Planning Weddings

August 9, 2009

This is a picture of the first wedding I ever worked on.  I was an Event Producer for Blue Plate Catering at the time.  I knew I always wanted to become a wedding planner and this event pretty much sealed the deal.   This wedding reception was at a summer home in Valparaiso, Indiana in the middle of a wheat field.  The mother of the Bride was a successful interior designer, so she had a lot of fantastic ideas.  Botanicals provided all the centerpieces and it was the first time I had ever seen fruits and vegetables paired with flowers for a wedding (this was back in 2002).

It was the most unique wedding I had ever seen and I was proud to have been a part in making it all come to life. 

I will never forget the tent glowing once the sun went down and how all the food was 5 star.  It was just a dream come true for me to see this wedding and realize how different weddings can be!  This is when my love affair with event planning started and 7 years later I still love to feel those butterflies in my stomach when I finally see the finished product…..not to mention the look on the client’s face when they first see the room. It is the most unbelievable feeling.

Leave a Reply

